Home About Icons Reviews Manga Lists Guestbook Gallery Links Out

Manga Journal

A brief explanation: I have a very poor memory, so I can only read manga on a weekly update basis if I keep careful track of the plot points. I'm going to use this page to write small summaries and thoughts about the chapters I read. Spoilers are unmarked, so tread carefully.

Current series:

Chainsaw Man: Chapter 94

November 26, 2020

I'm a bit late to reading this one but, meh. It was a pretty boring chapter anyway. Mostly fighting. One of the things that I don't love about this series is that the fights are so bloody and all-over-the-place that I often can't even tell what's going on. All I'm really interested in at this point is seeing the emotional impact of Denji and Makima's final showdown, but Fujimoto seems intent on stalling that for as long as possible.

Fukaboku: Chapter 24

November 20, 2020

General Update

November 20, 2020

So, funny story... about two years ago now, I decided that pssh, I didn't need a stupid website page to remember the manga I read! And I... was wrong! Whaddya know. When I was trying to catch up on One Piece the other day I realized that the last chapter I clearly remembered was also the last one I had journaled, and finally put two-and-two together. So we're going to try this again! I've started a few new series, I've dropped SNK, and I'm currently behind on One Piece and Kuroshitsuji. I also probably won't be writing about Yotsuba anymore, because it's episodic and I don't really need to keep careful track of its plot (especially considering how much reread value it has).

SNK: Chapters 109 & 110

October 20, 2018

I finally pulled myself together and caught up again... major shoutout to this post for helping me review what exactly is going on, because most of the stuff with Hizuru had gone completely over my head.

I think that chapter 109 is yet another example of how Isayama struggles with pacing, specifically regarding character development. I like Louise and Kaya a lot, but having their entire personalities and backstories set up in the span of one chapter is pretty disappointing. If we had gotten even a small scene before the timeskip showing that Kaya was now a part of the Braus family or Louise admiring Mikasa as a new recruit, their roles in this chapter would have felt significantly less abrupt.

On the other hand, I'm super excited that we're finally getting a real conversation between Zeke and Levi. I'm really interested in their dynamic. Also, Pieck! and Eren in a longcoat against the sunset! This truly is the chapter that keeps on giving.

I'm probably going to get to work reading some of the spinoffs now, I may or may not be entering hyperfixation territory, all I know is that I really want more character drama and I'm not willing to wait another month to get it.

OP: Chapter 921

October 19, 2018

I've pretty much given up on this log thing considering how far behind I am on every series except One Piece, and the fact that the Wano arc has been boring me lately and I don't really feel like I have anything to say about it. I'd like to try to get back into the swing of things, and maybe catch up on SNK and Kuroshitsuji when I find the time as well.

SNK: Chapter 107

July 7, 2018

Yes, it’s finally here.

OP: Chapter 910

July 7, 2018

The crew is back… Carrot is back… I’m feeling pretty good about this arc right now.


OP: Chapter 909

June 30, 2018

And so, the Wano arc begins!

OP: Chapters 107 & 108

June 16, 2018

I’ve been getting lazier and lazier with these posts ever since Carrot stopped getting screentime (pagetime?)

It’s not that I’m not interested in what’s happening, it’s that all my thoughts always seem to amount to “oh cool I haven’t seen that guy in a while :)” and it gets tedious to write about. The problem with chapters like this is that there’s so much going on, which can be fun, but also comes across as a bit clunky. And this sudden development of a single person being the “ultimate leader” behind the world government feels unrealistic and pretty far out of left field, especially considering we still know next to nothing about the five elders.

So yeah, these past few chapters haven’t been jiving with me. I hope that we get to see the crew again soon.

SNK: Chapter 106

June 8, 2018

Kuroshitsuji: Chapter 140

June 4, 2018

This chapter was painfully short and I don't have much to say about it... I've really enjoyed finally getting Ciel's backstory over these past few chapters, and, like everyone else, I'm eager to learn his real name. It feels like Toboso is just teasing us at this point.

OP: Chapter 906

June 1, 2018

The reverie exposition continues...

OP: Chapter 905

May 25, 2018


OP: Chapter 904

April 11, 2018

It looks like I’ve finally reached yet another point in the series where I’m actively counting down the days until new updates… it feels good to be so excited about the series again.

SNK: Chapter 105

May 5, 2018

Oh dear…

That chapter hurt. A lot. Sasha was really the first character I liked in the series, and I'm very sad to see her go. However, I will say that I pretty much saw it coming, like a ton of other readers apparently.

Everyone knows Isayama has been planning to kill off Sasha for a while, and apparently there was that whole fiasco with one of the editors getting really upset about it so he kept her around for a bit longer after Zeke showed up. But since then, it kind of seems like he hasn't really known what to do with her. She gets a scene here and there, but doesn't really contribute a whole bunch to the plot. Don't get me wrong, I'll always love her very much, and I would have loved for her to have a greater role in the story. But I understand that it must be tough to just have to be like "okay, I guess this character isn't dying... so what now?" Sasha's biggest contribution to the series since her backstory has really been as the comic relief, and based on where the story is going... well, it does seem an appropriate time to loose that last remnant of good humor.

I will say that her death felt a bit cheap. Not in her manner of death, which was anticlimactic, yeah, but I'm okay with that; I like that not everyone in the series needs to receive a terribly drawn-out death scene. I just mean that, like... she hasn't gotten an actual scene to herself in such a long time, to the point that I don't think I'd be very sad over her death if I wasn't so active in the fandom (and therefore constantly being reminded of her good scenes from back in the first few arcs.) Especially after getting such a great post-timeskip design, I would have loved to see her get one more scene to herself before kicking the bucket. Well, c'est la vie.

On the other hand, I continue to like Gabi more and more. And no, that's not contradictory! Gabi is a going through A LOT and Eren's group kind of just killed all her friends so seeing everyone hating on her for killing Sasha seems very silly. It's not like she's ever known Sasha as anything more than an enemy; how is that different from Eren (indirectly) killing Zofia and Udo? I personally really love Gabi as a character. Oh, and I'm also glad to see Pieck starting to recover.

OP: Chapter 903

April 28, 2018

Okay, well… quite a lot happened in this chapter. I’ll try to address the events in order.

OP: Chapter 902

April 20, 2018

OP: Chapter 901

April 13, 2018

This chapter was a bit of a rollercoaster; I started off being upset at the supposed red herring ending of 900, but the chapters direction quickly took a turn for the dramatic and I ended up really enjoying it.

SNK: Chapter 104

April 9, 2018

OP: Chapter 900

April 9, 2018

I read this chapter over a week ago, but I've been on vacation this past week, so here we are. I'm glad to be home to my laptop.


OP: Chapter 899

March 25, 2018


OP: Chapter 898

March 16, 2018

THERE’S A SPECIAL GIRL!!!!! A 10/10 chapter for this panel alone.

OP: Chapter 897

March 15, 2018

I'm starting to get very sloppy with updating this. I actually read the chapter nearly a week ago, at this point another one is already about to come out...

SNK: Chapter 103

March 7, 2018

The leaks came out sooner than I expected... I suppose the fandom is nothing if not dedicated.

Yotsuba&!: Chapter 101

March 4, 2018

OP: Chapter 896

March 2, 2018

OP: Chapter 895

February 16, 2018

OP: Chapter 894

February 14, 2018

SNK: Chapter 102

February 7, 2018

Wow... what a chapter!

Yotsuba&!: Chapter 100

February 4, 2018

The 100th Yotsuba&! chapter! It's good to know that after a hundred chapters, it's still one of my favorite manga ever.

OP: Chapter 893

February 2, 2018

Uh… okay. A thoroughly underwhelming chapter. I don’t even have enough to say about it to use my usual bullet-point format. The dumb “drama” between Flambe and Katakuri is just that, it doesn’t seem to contribute to the plot or show any signs of overall relevance, it’s as if it was just kind of shoved in there to procrastinate. I just want Luffy to beat Katakuri already so that we can get back to the important stuff.

OP: Chapter 892

January 26, 2018

SNK: Chapter 101

January 16, 2018

Look who finally caught up with the manga! This is my first time in a while trying to work with a series that updates irregularly (i.e. less regularly than One Piece) and I'm really hoping that using this journal as a tool will allow me to keep track of what's going on. I really enjoy this series and I'd hate to fall into another pattern of relying on spoilers to keep me caught up. Anyway, I know that this chapter was kind of a big deal for everyone who's been caught up for a while, but since I read it today along with 10+ other chapters, I'm having a hard time keeping it separate from the previous couple in my mind. Basically, I've just been really happy to see Eren back, and I really like the direction Isayama is going with his character. People don't seem to like Eren compared to the other members of the main cast, but he's one of my favorites! I think he's very underappreciated.

On the other hand, I often find Mikasa to be almost *overappreciated*, but I still like her, and was really glad to see her again. I hope her hair actually looks like that and it's not just tucked into her jacket or something, because it's a good look for her.

Finally, I was admittedly pretty upset to see Zofia and Udo die. They were minor characters, sure, but I liked them! Well, as long as Pieck survives, I guess it's okay. She's currently my favorite side character, and I think her brief appearances were the only reason I didn't fall into a lull at the start of the Marley arc.

OP: Chapter 891

January 12, 2018

Another chapter, finally! Wait... another two week break?! Come on Oda, I'm dying here!

Okay, so these last two chapters have admittedly fallen flat after the awesomeness of Carrot in 888/889. It's not that they're bad, it's just that Carrot was so good! Hopefully she'll wake up soon and get me excited for updates again.